Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Mark Land
Associate vice president, IU Communications

Ryan Piurek
Director, news and media

Last modified: Saturday, June 30, 2012

Eskew re-elected IU trustee

June 30, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University alumni elected Philip N. Eskew Jr. to a third three-year term as an IU trustee today.

Eskew, who was first elected in 2006, received 10,109 out of the 15,657 valid votes cast. Michael D. Shumate of Los Angeles received 5,548 votes.

Philip N. Eskew Jr.

Philip N. Eskew Jr.

Print-Quality Photo

Eskew, who earned a bachelor of arts degree in 1963 from DePauw University and a doctor of medicine degree in 1970 from the IU School of Medicine, is the retired director of physician and patient relations at St. Vincent Hospital in Indianapolis.

He has served the university in several capacities. He is a clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the IU School of Medicine and a life member of the IU Alumni Association.

A diplomate on the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Eskew enjoyed a distinguished career in medicine, has been active in a number of professional organizations and assumed leadership roles in several. At the same time, he has been an active member of the Carmel, Ind., community, serving on the school board, library board and parks and recreation board, among others. He has played an integral role in the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame since 1993, and served as its president from 2007 to 2009.

As a graduate of both DePauw University and IU, he has been heavily involved in both alumni associations and currently serves as the president of the board of advisors at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.

He received a Sagamore of the Wabash in 1996, the St. Vincent Hospital "Distinguished Physician Award" in 2000 and the March of Dimes "Mark of Distinction Award" in 2001. He was inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in 2005.

In accordance with state law, the annual election is conducted by the dean of the University Libraries on the IU Bloomington campus, with assistance from the IU Alumni Association.

This was the fifth year alumni could vote online, and 10,942 votes were cast in that manner. There were 4,715 valid paper ballots, while five paper ballots were declared invalid. Library staff and students undertook the task of counting the ballots.

IU has nine trustees, three of whom are elected by alumni. The other two alumni trustees are Patrick A. Shoulders of Evansville, Ind., who was re-elected to a fourth three-year term in 2011, and MaryEllen Bishop of Carmel, Ind., who was elected to the board in 2010.

Shoulders' current term will expire in 2014, and Bishop's term will expire in 2013. The remaining trustees, including a student trustee, are appointed by the governor of Indiana.