Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Susan Williams
Emergency Communications

Last modified: Thursday, August 9, 2012

IU Police Academy graduates 33 new cadets

Local student part of graduating cadet class

NOTE: Graduates of the newest class of cadets are listed below along with their home campus and hometowns.

Aug. 9, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Indiana University Police Academy in Bloomington will graduate 33 police cadet officers at 10 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 11, in the Indiana Memorial Union's Alumni Hall. A reception for graduates, family and friends is scheduled after the ceremony in the IMU Solarium.

The weekend also marks the IU Police Academy's 40th anniversary. An invitation-only dinner will take place Friday, Aug. 10, to mark the anniversary, which also will be noted at the graduation reception. Paul Whitesell, superintendent of the Indiana State Police and a 1976 graduate of the IU Police Academy, will speak.

The IU Police Academy serves all campuses of Indiana University. Six of this year's graduating cadets are IUPUI undergraduates, one is a student at IU Northwest and 26 are students at the Bloomington campus. They will continue their undergraduate studies while working approximately 20 hours per week as cadet officers. Over 1,000 young men and women have gone through the program.

With its inaugural class graduating in 1972, the IU Police Academy was introduced at a time when formal training for police officers, other than those with the Indiana State Police, was optional. Blending academic curriculum, law enforcement education and practical experience under the supervision of experienced officers, the IU Police Academy was a unique idea and was instrumental in professionalizing police work. The program is still believed to be the only one of its kind at a university.

The following IU students will graduate Saturday:

IU Bloomington

  • Adam Ahmad, Hobart, Ind.
  • Kory Bailey, Columbia City, Ind.
  • Dave Burger, Bedford, Ind.
  • Jackie Burke, Kokomo, Ind.
  • Adam De Both, Cedar Lake, Ind.
  • Bennett Dillon, Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Dane Duke, Columbus, Ind.
  • Alex Eakle, Cloverdale, Ind.
  • Ian Fultz, Crown Point, Ind.
  • Mason Gilmore, New Palestine, Ind.
  • Alex Howell, Indianapolis
  • Alyssa Hunter, Indianapolis
  • Jimmy Konja, Hobart, Ind.
  • Chris Leblanc, Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Alec Leggio, Bloomington, Ind.
  • Justin Littman, Elletsville, Ind.
  • Matthew Martindale, South Bend, Ind.
  • Robert Mitchell, Fishers, Ind.
  • Brendan O'Neill, Munster, Ind.
  • Kyle Ovanek, St. John, Ind.
  • Elias Rebollar, Indianapolis
  • Jack Reilly, Naperville, Ill.
  • Joshua Shiflet, Bloomington, Ind.
  • Collin Shuman, South Bend, Ind.
  • Joe Sizemore, Indianapolis
  • Adam Warner, Rising Sun, Ind.


  • Austin Arndt, Plainfield, Ind.
  • Blair Brown, Indianapolis
  • Simone Evans, Indianapolis
  • Travis Murphy, West Islip, N.Y.
  • Zach Nichols, Frankfort, Ind.
  • Jeremy Torres, Indianapolis

IU Northwest

  • Sam Parker, Valparaiso, Ind.