Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Mark Land
Associate vice president, IU Communications

Jennifer Kincaid
Office of the Executive Vice President for University Regional Affairs, Planning and Policy

Last modified: Monday, August 20, 2012

Search for new chancellor begins at IU South Bend

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- A search and screen committee has been formed to identify finalists for the position of chancellor of Indiana University South Bend, IU President Michael A. McRobbie has announced.

IU South Bend

IU South Bend campus

Print-Quality Photo

The committee, which will begin meeting in September, will initiate a national search for a replacement for current IU South Bend Chancellor Una Mae Reck, who is retiring after having served as chief executive officer of the IU South Bend campus since 2002.

"IU South Bend has strong traditions of academic excellence, dynamic campus life, civic responsibility and a global engagement," said John Applegate, IU's executive vice president of university regional affairs, planning and policy. "I know the committee takes seriously its responsibility to identify candidates with the values and vision to maintain and enhance those traditions."

IU Northwest Chancellor William Lowe will chair the committee, which also includes representatives from the faculty, staff and student body at IU South Bend, as well as from the greater northern Indiana community. The committee expects to complete its work by spring with the goal of having the new chancellor begin his or her term in July 2013.

The members of the search committee are:

  • Chair: William Lowe, chancellor, Indiana University Northwest
  • Thomas Lee Brown Sr., facilities management, Indiana University South Bend
  • Nancy Colborn, associate librarian, head of Information Literacy Services, the Franklin D. Schurz Library, IU South Bend
  • Louise Collins, associate professor of philosophy, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, IU South Bend
  • John Davis, senior lecturer in Spanish, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, IU South Bend
  • Robert Deputy, retired president and CEO, Godfrey Marine; chair, IU South Bend Advisory Board
  • Hannah Dill, president, Student Government Association, IU South Bend
  • Douglas McMillen, interim dean, College of Health Sciences; associate dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; professor of organic chemistry, IU South Bend
  • Charlotte Pfeifer, director, Office of Judicial Affairs, IU South Bend
  • Alma Powell, retired director of curriculum and instruction, Elkhart Community Schools; member, Alumni Association Board of Directors; member, IU South Bend Advisory Board
  • P.N. Saksena, assistant dean, School of Business and Economics; professor of accounting, IU South Bend
  • Carolyn Schult, associate professor of psychology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, IU South Bend
  • Ex-officio member: Jennifer Kincaid, chief of staff/director of policy administration, Office of the Executive Vice President for University Regional Affairs, Planning and Policy, Indiana University

The firm of Storbeck/Pimentel will help facilitate the search.

Indiana University South Bend is one of the region's most dynamic forces in higher education and community partnerships. IU South Bend is the third largest campus of Indiana University with 8,300 students, over 800 faculty and staff, and more than 100 degree and certificate programs. The campus has a strong commitment to academic excellence. It offers the full collegiate experience including student housing, men's and women's NAIA basketball, and a full complement of activities.