Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Charlene Brown
Wells Scholars Program

George Vlahakis
IU Media Relations

Last modified: Monday, August 15, 2005

Newnan's Taylor named Wells Scholar at Indiana University

AUG. 15, 2005

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University President Adam W. Herbert announced that Sarah Taylor of Newnan, Ga., has been selected as a Wells Scholar at IU, one of 19 entering freshmen so honored. She will this fall join more than 300 others who have been named Wells Scholars.

The scholarship, named in honor of the late IU Chancellor Herman B Wells, ranks among the most competitive and prestigious awards offered by any American university. Since its inception in 1990, more than two dozen Wells Scholars have gone on to earn prestigious Rhodes, Truman, Marshall, Soros, Mitchell, Churchill, Fulbright and Goldwater scholarships for advanced study.

Many previous Wells Scholars today contribute to society as attorneys, doctors, school teachers and business people and even an ordained minister. Others have gone on to clerk for Indiana and U.S. Supreme Court justices, are engaged in international relief and service efforts and are scholars at other renowned educational institutions such as Harvard Business School and Cornell Law School. There are Wells Scholars currently serving in the Armed Forces and other positions in government.

"This program has a spectacular track record for developing future leaders who reflect the example and vision of former IU Chancellor Herman B Wells," Herbert said. "Its impact is reflected in the achievements of past Wells Scholars who have remained in and contributed to the Hoosier state, and by those who represent the university and our state with great distinction both nationally and throughout the world. Since its establishment 16 years ago, IU also has used the Wells Scholars program as a model for other scholarship programs that enable IU to attract to our campuses more of the best students in the state and nation."

To honor Wells, IU created the Wells Scholars Program, which began with fund-raising efforts in 1988 and the appointment of Professor Breon Mitchell as its founding director. In 1990, IU welcomed its first class of Wells Scholars and on June 7, 1992, Wells' 90th birthday, he was officially presented with the Wells Scholars Program as a gift from his many friends and admirers. After his death in the spring of 2000, this community of talented and dedicated young scholars remains as a permanent legacy of his educational vision. Wells Scholars receive full tuition and course-related fees, as well as a living stipend for four years of undergraduate study on the Bloomington campus of IU. The program also offers special seminars, an optional year of study abroad, and support for a summer research project or internship. The Wells program emphasizes close interaction with faculty, academic and career advising, opportunities for community service, and contact with distinguished visitors.

Wells Scholars are selected for having demonstrated exceptional qualities of character and leadership and distinction both inside and outside of the classroom.

Winner of the 2004 Georgia Music Talent Search for High School Students, Taylor is the first Wells Scholar from Newnan High School. She placed first and second at the state level in consecutive years in the National Association of Teachers of Singing auditions. She is Georgia's 2005 Junior Miss and was a two-time Georgia Independent School Association vocal solo state champion.

Twice selected as a member of the Georgia All-State Chorus, Taylor also was selected to participate in the Tanglewood Institute's 2004 Young Artists Vocal Program. At The Heritage School, which she attended her freshman and sophomore years, and at Newnan High, she had lead roles in school musical productions and was a member of the school choruses. At Newnan, Sarah was a member of the National Honor Society, the Academic Bowl and Mock Trial teams, Key Club, Beta Club and the psychology club. While attending The Heritage School, she was elected as secretary of the student government association and competed on the varsity soccer, cross country and softball teams.

She created a piano program at Newnan Boys and Girls Club, where she offered lessons on a weekly basis. In addition she volunteered for the March of Dimes, Special Olympics, community tutoring programs, and other community service organizations. She plans to pursue her passion for music as a vocal performance major.