Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Torabi recognized for scholarship, leadership

Mohammad Torabi, Chancellor's Professor and chair of the Department of Applied Health Science in Indiana University Bloomington's School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, has received the Monica R. Wild and Doris E. White Scholar Award from the University of Northern Iowa in recognition of his health-related scholarship and leadership.

The Wild and White Award is presented, in alternate years, by UNI's School of Health, Physical Education and Leisure Services. It is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions in the areas of health, physical education, recreation, or youth and human services and whose professional dedication reflects the same level of commitment and zeal exhibited by the award's namesakes, Monica Wild and Doris White, who were noted UNI faculty.

Last spring Torabi became the first health educator to receive the prestigious award. During his visit to the UNI campus, he made several presentations about health issues to the university community, faculty and students.

Torabi's research interests include test construction and evaluation in health education; tobacco, alcohol and other drug education; HIV/AIDS prevention; and cancer prevention. He is published widely and has given hundreds of professional presentations, with 43 of these occurring in 15 other countries. Torabi has served in many leadership positions for the American School Health Association, American Association for Health Education, American Cancer Society, Eta Sigma Gamma, American Lung Association, Phi Delta Kappa, International Union for Health Education and Promotion, and the American Academy of Health Behavior.

He has received various research awards and accolades such as the 2000 Scholar Award from the American Association for Health Education; the Research Council Award from the American School Health Association; the Scholar Award from the Midwest American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance; and the Indiana University School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation Outstanding Researcher Award.