Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

IU Jacobs School of Music presents international guests Patrick Gallois and Maria Prinz in concert

Feb. 28, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana University Jacobs School of Music Department of Woodwinds is pleased to present flautist Patrick Gallois and pianist Maria Prinz in guest recital at 7 p.m. Tuesday, March 5, in Recital Hall. The concert is free and open to the public.

Maria Prinz and Patrick Gallois

Maria Prinz and Patrick Gallois

Print-Quality Photo

The "Vienna Meets Paris" repertoire will include Mozart's Sonata F Major K.376, Beethoven's "National Airs with Variations" Op.105 and 107, "Das Fischermädchen" and "Ständchen" by Schubert/Boehm, Gaubert's Sonata for Flute and Piano No. 2 and Messiaen's "Le merle noire."

Gallois belongs to the generation of French musicians leading highly successful international careers as both soloist and conductor. From the age of 17, he studied flute with Jean-Pierre Rampal at the Paris Conservatoire. At the age of 21, he was appointed principal flute in the Orchestre National de France, under Lorin Maazel, playing under many famous conductors, including Leonard Bernstein, Seiji Ozawa, Pierre Boulez, Karl Boehm, Eugen Jochum and Sergiu Celibidache. He held this post until 1984, when he decided to focus on his solo career, which has subsequently taken him throughout the world.

He regularly performs and records with leading conductors and collaborates in chamber music with musicians such as Yuri Bashmet, Natalia Gutman, Peter Schreier, Jorg Demus and the Lindsay Quartet, and formerly with Jean-Pierre Rampal and Lily Laskine. He has been invited to appear as a soloist with major orchestras in Europe and in Asia, and in leading international festivals, with tours to Germany, Japan and Israel, and annual master classes at the Accademia Chigiana in Siena. After establishing his own orchestra in Paris, the Académie de Paris, Gallois developed a conducting career which has taken him to Japan, Scandinavia, Italy, Portugal, the United States and Bulgaria, in addition to appearances as a conductor in France. In 2003, he was appointed musical director of the Sinfonia Finlandia Jyväskylä and tours regularly with the orchestra.

Both as a conductor and as a flautist, he has a wide repertoire, with a strong taste for contemporary music, and many new works have been dedicated to him. His recordings include an award-winning series for DGG. For Naxos, he has recorded the complete flute concertos of C. P. E. Bach, Haydns Symphonies Nos.1-5 and Gounods symphonies, among other works. His recording for Naxos of Krauss Aeneas i Cartago was awarded a Choc by Musica in April 2010. He received a Choc in February 2011 and a Diapason dOr in March 2011 for his recording of the violin concertos of Saint-Saens. In February 2013, Naxos released a CD with four Mozart sonatas with Gallois and Prinz.

Prinz has performed with leading orchestras throughout Europe, including several performances with the Vienna Philharmonic, collaborating with renowned conductors Riccardo Muti at the Salzburg Festival and Seiji Ozawa in Vienna, and with Neville Marriner in Bulgaria. As a recitalist, she has appeared in the United States, throughout Europe and in Japan. Her chamber music collaborations include numerous performances with members of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, including the flautists Dieter Flury and Wolfgang Schulz, and clarinetists Alfred Prinz and Peter Schmidl, among others. Concerts in Weill Hall/Carnegie Hall in New York and Purcell Room/Queen Elizabeth Hall in London with flautist Patrick Gallois are currently scheduled.

Her recordings include Haydn and Mozart piano concertos with the Sofia Symphony Orchestra; Brahms sonatas for clarinet and piano with Alfred Prinz; Poulenc, Martin and Brahms clarinet sonatas with Petko Radev; a disc of chamber music of Beethoven, Glinka and Alfred Prinz; and a recording of songs by Giacomo Puccini with soprano Krassimira Stoyanova. A Naxos recording of Mozart sonatas, arranged by Patrick Gallois for flute and piano, was released in February 2013, and a Chandos disc with rarities by Krenek, D'Indy and Schulhoff with the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields under Sir Neville Marriner will appear in September 2013.

Prinz was born in Sofia, Bulgaria, into a musical family. Her father is the famous Bulgarian conductor and composer Konstantin Iliev. She studied at the Music University "Hanns Eisler" in Berlin with Rudolf Dunckel, in Vienna with Jörg Demus and in Paris with Yvonne Lefébure. In addition to her performing career, she has taught at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna since 1987.