Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Mark Land
Associate vice president, IU Communications

Ryan Piurek
Director, news and media, IU Communications

Last modified: Tuesday, April 2, 2013

Indiana University to present Distinguished Teaching Awards

April 2, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- In keeping with annual tradition, Indiana University will salute continued great teaching at the university, which marks its founding 193 years ago this spring.

Fifteen faculty members and four doctoral students will be recognized for outstanding teaching, research and service to the university. The award recipients teach at IU Bloomington, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, IU East, IU Kokomo, IU Northwest and IU South Bend.

IU President Michael A. McRobbie will present the honorees with their awards at the 2013 Celebration of Distinguished Teaching dinner Friday, April 5. The dinner is one of the activities held as part of Founders Day, the annual celebration of IU's founding in 1820.

McRobbie described this year's class of award recipients as "IU's finest faculty members, whose efforts every day in the classroom, laboratory and studio transform the lives of students, preparing them for successful careers after graduation."

New distinguished professors
As previously announced in February, five professors have been elevated to the distinguished rank. Three are from the IU Bloomington campus and two are from the campus of IUPUI.

New distinguished professors from the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington are Edward G. Carmines, Warner O. Chapman Professor and James H. Rudy Professor of Political Science; Keith Clay, professor of biology; and Nets Katz, professor of mathematics.

New distinguished professors from the IU School of Medicine on the IUPUI campus are David B. Burr, professor of anatomy and cell biology, and Mervin C. Yoder Jr., Richard and Pauline Klingler Professor of Pediatrics.

The rank of distinguished professor, the most prestigious academic appointment Indiana University can bestow upon its faculty, was created by the IU Board of Trustees in 1967. The title is conferred by the university president with approval of the board.

A complete list of Indiana University Distinguished Professors, along with titled professors and additional information, is available online.

Teaching award winners
The Lieber Memorial Awards for distinguished teaching will go to faculty and doctoral students on the IU Bloomington, IU Kokomo and IU South Bend campuses.

Rebecca Brittenham, associate professor of English and director of the First-Year Writing Program at IU South Bend, will receive the Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award.

Eva Roa White, associate professor of English at IU Kokomo, will receive the Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award.

IU Bloomington doctoral students Sarah E. Dees (religious studies); Sarah J. Hatteberg (sociology); Holly E. Schreiber (comparative literature, American studies); and Amina Butoyi Shabani (Latin American and Caribbean literatures) will receive the Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award. All are from the College of Arts and Sciences.

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Award was established in 1954 by Katie D. Bachman in honor of her grandson. Established in 1961, the Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award was originally sponsored by the IU Foundation and then by Mrs. Herman Lieber of Indianapolis. The Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award was also initiated in 1961 and is presented each year to outstanding teachers among the university's graduate students.

Tanice G. Foltz, professor of sociology and director of the Women's and Gender Studies Program at IU Northwest, will receive the Sylvia E. Bowman Award.

Established in 1994, the Sylvia E. Bowman Award honors exemplary faculty members in areas related to American civilization. Endowed through the IU Foundation, the award commemorates Sylvia E. Bowman (1914-1989), a respected scholar and author who gave 34 years of service to IU as a professor, academic administrator and chancellor for regional campus administration.

Jeffrey L. Gould, James H. Rudy Professor of History at IU Bloomington, and Zao C. Xu, professor of anatomy and cell biology at the IU School of Medicine on the IUPUI campus, will receive the John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies.

The Ryan Award was initiated in 1991 and named for the man who was president of IU from 1971 to 1987. John Ryan (1929-2011) was instrumental in fostering IU's commitment to excellence in international education. The award honors faculty members or librarians who have made exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies.

Donna J. Eder, professor of sociology at IU Bloomington, will receive the Thomas Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Service Learning.

The Thomas Ehrlich Award is named for the man who was IU's president from 1987 to 1994. The award, first conferred in 2001, honors faculty members who have shown outstanding leadership in integrating community and public service into their curricula.

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service will be given to Karen Rae Clark, dean and associate professor of nursing at IU East; IU Bloomington professor of English Christine Farris; and Joel M. Schumm, clinical professor of law at the Robert H. McKinney School of Law at IUPUI.

The University Faculty Council established the Pinnell Award in 1988, honoring the memory of the former executive vice president of the university who also served during his career as president of the IU Foundation and dean of IU's Kelley School of Business. The award recognizes faculty members or librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement and depth of commitment in service to the university, their profession or the public.

B. Breon Mitchell, professor emeritus of Germanic studies and of comparative literature and director emeritus of the IU Lilly Library, will receive the Medal for Distinguished Service. The medal commends outstanding service to IU and the academic community. Criteria for bestowal include distinction in scholarship, service and research, and a sustained relationship with IU.