Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Steve Hinnefeld
IU Communications

Last modified: Monday, April 8, 2013

Students recognized at IU Bloomington Honors Convocation

April 8, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University Bloomington recognized students for outstanding achievement Sunday during the 2013 Founders Day Honors Convocation, an annual celebration of academic excellence and a celebration of the university's 193rd birthday.

Honors Convocations 2013

Students are recognized at the IU Bloomington Honors Convocation.

Print-Quality Photo

Several dozen students were accorded special recognition during the event for receiving university awards for scholarship, leadership and service and for earning nationally competitive scholarships and honors. Also honored were approximately 3,300 Founders Scholars, the campus's most academically distinguished undergraduates, who have earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.8 or higher.

Herman B Wells Senior Recognition Award

Alicia Nieves, majoring in political science and migration studies through the Individualized Major Program in the College of Arts and Sciences, received the Herman B Wells Senior Recognition Award. Established in 1962 and named for the university's 11th president and, later, university chancellor, the award recognizes excellence in academic growth, achievement and leadership.

Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Awards

Five students received the 47th Distinguished Senior Awards, which were established by Elvis J. Stahr, 12th president of the university, and are based on scholarship, leadership, personality and service.

Recipients are Deanna Allbrittin, majoring in journalism in the School of Journalism; Andrew Esstman, marketing operations management in the Kelley School of Business; Sashangar Sreetharan, finance and accounting in the Kelley School; Kyle Straub, finance and international business in the Kelley School; and Sarah Wells, vocal performance in the Jacobs School of Music.

Provost's Awards for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity

Six students received the award, which recognizes outstanding undergraduate achievement and originality. It also recognizes the faculty members who served as mentors.

Student award recipients and their projects are: Amal Akbik, "Categorization of Regional International and Nonnative Accents"; Courtney Burroughs, "Role of the Cortex in Corticostriatal Neuronal Processing in Huntington's Disease Mice"; Andrew Johns, "Pragmatic Variation in Request Production in Dakar French"; Angela Ratigan, "Exploration of the Male Form in Minoan Art"; Ross Smith, "Books and Beyond Evaluation Team"; and Larrea Young, "Fashion Design/Textile Design."

Kate Hevner Mueller Outstanding Senior Awards

The Mueller Awards recognize students who have left the campus better than they found it by helping other students learn more about themselves, each other and the world outside the classroom so they can be successful inside the classroom.

Recipients and their majors are: Kelsey Brannon, elementary special education; Mary Kate Doherty, communications; Christian Corbin Frye, neuroscience and psychology; Laura Hoover, supply chain management and technology management; Wyatt Jackson, human biology and anthropology; Peter Laramore, political science and history; Brett Rasche, supply chain management and technology management; Adam Replogle, criminal justice; Augustin Ruta, finance; George Thomas IV, journalism; Ashley Yu, marketing, management and international business; and Sarah Williams, informatics and comparative literature.

Churchill Scholarship

Kent Griffin, a senior majoring in chemistry, was awarded a Churchill Scholarship for graduate study at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom. He is one of only 14 U.S. students to receive a Churchill Scholarship this year, and one of three from public universities. The scholarships are awarded by the Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States.

Luce Scholarship

Tarlise Townsend, a spring 2012 graduate with a degree in neuroscience and Germanic studies, was awarded a Luce Scholarship to live and work in Asia. She is one of 18 recipients of the competitive award designed to enhance understanding of Asia for future leaders. The program, created by the Henry Luce Foundation, provides stipends, language training and professional placements.

Boren Scholarships

Kirsten Douglass, an international studies major, and Timothy Hoffelder, a linguistics major, received Boren Scholarships, which fund study in areas of the world that are critical to U.S. interests and under-represented in study abroad. Douglass received funding to study Arabic in Jordan and Hoffelder to study Swahili in Tanzania.

Fulbright Award

Andrew Morris, a 2012 graduate in Germanic studies and history, received a Fulbright Award. The Fulbright U.S. Student Program provides grants for overseas study and research projects and English teaching assistantships.

German Academic Exchange Service Scholarships

Sarah Saviet, a 2012 graduate of the Jacobs School of Music, and Tarlise Townsend, a 2012 graduate in Germanic studies and neuroscience, received the scholarships, which facilitate mobility to Germany for scholars from the U.S. and Canada.

U.S. State Department Critical Language Scholarships

IU students receiving the awards include: Keely Bakken, a Central Eurasian studies major, funded to study Turkish in Bursa, Turkey; Brandon Campbell, a criminology major, Arabic in Salalah, Oman; Jessica Merritt, a religious studies major, Hindi in Jaipur, India; Margarethe McDonald, an East Asian languages and cultures major, Korean in Jeonju, South Korea; and Susan Zimmerman, a 2012 graduate in Near Eastern language and cultures and in psychology, Arabic in Tangier, Morocco.

The IU Bloomington Honors Convocation is a formal ceremony, held for the past five years at the Indiana University Auditorium. It traditionally features addresses by President Michael A. McRobbie, IU Bloomington Provost Lauren Robel and a distinguished student. This year's student speaker was Kasey Greer, a senior history major from Plymouth, Ind. Deans of the schools and other school representatives personally greeted students at a reception after the ceremony.

A video of the ceremony may be seen at