Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Faith Hawkins
Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice President for Research

Last modified: Wednesday, May 1, 2013

16 research teams splitting $1 million in grants from IU Office of Vice President for Research

May 1, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Office of the Vice President for Research at Indiana University has awarded IU Collaborative Research Grants to 16 teams of faculty researchers.

Now in its third year, the program will provide just over $1 million in seed funding to researchers from different departments, schools and campuses for transformative research projects that have a substantial chance of attracting future external funding.

More than 275 faculty members from eight IU campuses were involved in the 108 proposals submitted for this round of awards. The teams submitting applications were required to be new collaborations working on new projects. Teams that receive IU Collaborative Research Grants are expected to submit external funding proposals within 18 months of their awards.

"Team science is a high priority for federal funding agencies such as the National Science Foundation and National Institutes of Health," said IU Vice President for Research Jorge Jose. "The collaborations represented in this year's grants are outstanding examples of how IU faculty can work together to study important problems, further their own work and enhance Indiana University's research profile."

Overall, 48 faculty members from a dozen schools received IU Collaborative Research Grants this year. Each team will participate in an IUCRG Day in March 2014 to present the preliminary results of their research in an open forum.

Project abstracts for 2012-13 IU Collaborative Research Grant recipients can be found online.

  • Role of the Epigenetic Regulator Cfp1 in hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) response to stress: Nadia Carlesso and Yunlong Liu (School of Medicine), David Skalnik (School of Science, IUPUI)
  • Mechanism of the non-classical release of EMAPII: Matthias Clauss (School of Medicine), David Clemmer (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington), Horia Petrache and Fangqiang Zhu (School of Science, IUPUI)
  • Genetic link of peptidoglycan recognition proteins with inflammatory bowel disease: Dipika Gupta (School of Medicine, IU Northwest), Iztok Hozo (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Northwest)
  • A Longitudinal Analysis of Project Lead the Way in Indiana: Robert Helfenbein (School of Education, IUPUI), Shanna Stuckey and John Houser (Center for Urban and Multicultural Education, IUPUI), Charles Feldhaus (School of Engineering and Technology)
  • Novel analgesic mechanisms for suppressing excessive glutamate signaling through targeted disruption of protein-protein interactions: Andrea G. Hohmann and Yvonne Y. Lai (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington), Andy Hudmon (School of Medicine)
  • A Novel Multimodal Methodology to Investigate Communicative Interactions between Parents and Deaf Infants Before and After Cochlear Implantation: Derek Houston (School of Medicine), David Crandall (School of Informatics and Computing), Tonya Bergeson-Dana (School of Medicine), Linda Smith, David Pisoni, Chen Yu (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington)
  • Thrombopoietic Agents in Bone Regeneration: Development of a Minipig Bone Healing Model; Melissa Kacena, Michael S. Sturek and Christine Boehm (School of Medicine), Tien-Min Gabriel Chu (School of Dentistry)
  • Translational Biomarkers in a Rodent Model of Schizophrenia: Christopher Lapish (School of Science), Brian O'Donnell and Dae Jin Kim (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington), Alan Breier and Jennifer Vohs (School of Medicine)
  • Real-time processing and visualization for cellular-resolution ophthalmoscopy: Donald Miller (School of Optometry), Jaehwan John Lee (School of Engineering and Technology)
  • Identifying post-translational modifications in protein complex assembly through STAP: Amber Mosley (School of Medicine), Andrew Kusmierczyk (School of Science, IUPUI)
  • Posttranslational analysis in a novel genetic model of Parkinson's disease: Richard Nass (School of Medicine), Jonathan Trinidad (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington)
  • Relating electrophysiology and symptoms of Parkinson's disease: Leonid L. Rubchinsky (School of Science, IUPUI), S. Elizabeth Zauber (School of Medicine)
  • Social SLAM: Creating Dynamical Socio-Environmental Models for Mobile Robots: Selma Sabanovic, Luis Rocha, Matthew Francisco, Alin Cosmanescu (School of Informatics and Computing)
  • A Novel Retinal Imaging Approach to Diagnose Glaucoma: Brian Samuels and Lyne Racette (School of Medicine), Gavriil Tsechpenakis (School of Science, IUPUI)
  • Discovering New Particles with Big Data Analytics on the Cloud: Adam Szczepaniak (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington), Geoffrey Fox (School of Informatics and Computing)
  • Localizing the skeletal effects of the serotonin transporter: Stuart Warden (School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences), Teresita Bellido (School of Medicine)