Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Rebecca Keith
IU Alumni Association

Last modified: Tuesday, May 21, 2013

IU Alumni Association to honor volunteers for service

May 21, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- In conjunction with a June 7 ceremony that will honor IU Jacobs School of Music Dean Emeritus Charles Webb, IU President Emeritus Tom Ehrlich and former IU first lady Ellen Ehrlich, the Indiana University Alumni Association will present awards to five individuals for their service and volunteer leadership to the IUAA.

The IUAA President's Award was established in 1993 to pay tribute to the organization's most dedicated alumni volunteers. It is the highest award given by the Alumni Association to a volunteer leader. The Gertrude Rich Award honors the memory of the wife of Claude Rich, director of the IUAA from 1948 to 1968. It is given to a spouse or partner of an alumni leader who has exemplified the spirit of Mrs. Rich in making outstanding contributions to the IUAA.

The 2013 recipients of the IUAA President's Award are:

  • Marjorie Smith Blewett, BA'48
  • Jerry W. Logan, BS'67, OD'69
  • Shirley A. Manning
  • Leland E. Tanner, BS'55

Marjorie Smith Blewett

Print-Quality Photo

Blewett, of Bloomington, Ind., served many journalistic roles, including her start at the Alumni Association in 1944 working on class notes, but she may be best remembered as placement director for the IU School of Journalism from 1969 to 1990. She still serves as the school's historian, compiling personal historical materials and donating them to the IU Archives.

Blewett, who was an assistant editor of the alumni magazine in the 1960s, was inducted into the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame in 1999, was awarded the School of Journalism Distinguished Alumni Award in 2011 and is a Sagamore of the Wabash. She has established the Marjorie Smith Blewett Scholarship and donated to numerous other scholarships and funds. She also founded the Ernie Pyle Society for retired alumni of the school.


Jerry W. Logan

Print-Quality Photo

A longtime alumni volunteer, Logan is a member of the IUAA Executive Council, fulfilled a three-year term on the IU East board of advisors and is a member of the School of Optometry alumni board. He served as co-chair for his class campaign and, along with his wife, Terri, has made significant donations to IU.

Logan, of Richmond, Ind., is a recipient of the Spirit of Philanthropy Award from IUPUI and has been involved with the Whitewater Valley Chapter of the IUAA since 1985, having served as president and secretary.


Shirley A. Manning

Print-Quality Photo

Manning is a loyal and dedicated member of the IUAA and represents IU in many ways. She has served as a student-recruitment volunteer and assisted the Varsity Club. Manning, of Cedar Lake, Ind., has been instrumental in the success of the Lakeshore Chapter of the IUAA in northwest Indiana, serving as its president.

She has also promoted a diverse array of programming. She was the driving force behind the 2008 IU Cares book drive, collecting hundreds of books to donate to area charities. Although Manning is not an IU graduate, she and her husband, Tom, are always willing to help for the betterment of IU.


Leland E. Tanner

Print-Quality Photo

Highly respected in the investment community, Tanner was chairman of the IUAA investment committee from 2004 to 2012 and is still a member of the Finance Committee. He is also a member of the Woodburn Guild, Hoosier Hundred, Well House Society, 1820 Society and the IUAA's 1854 Society. Tanner, of Indianapolis, has been a stalwart and respected leader in his volunteer work for the IUAA.

The 2013 recipient of the Gertrude Rich Award is Barbara Baker of Durham, N.C.

The spouse of Central Carolina Chapter president Donald Kritsch, Baker is an associate life member of the IUAA. She serves as director at-large of the Central Carolina Chapter and is the chapter's graphics, publications and promotions creator. Baker creates business cards for board members, fliers, invitations and other items in marketing the chapter and its events. She is a recipient of the chapter's Distinguished Service Award.

The IU Alumni Association is dedicated to serving the university and its diverse alumni, students and friends. As one of the nation's largest alumni organizations, serving more than 570,000 graduates worldwide, the IUAA provides many programs and services to its members, nonmember alumni and the university.