Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Chuck Carney
Director, communications and media relations, IU School of Education

Last modified: Friday, June 21, 2013

Annual education leadership conference renamed for longtime IU faculty member McCarthy

June 21, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Indiana University School of Education and the Indiana University School Administrators Association announced during Thursday's session of the 46th Education Leadership Summer Conference that the annual event is being renamed for Chancellor's Professor Emeritus Martha McCarthy.

Starting next summer, the conference will be known as the Martha McCarthy Education Law and Policy Institute. In recent years, the Regional Educational Laboratory Program's Midwest division, REL Midwest, has offered a half-day session in conjunction with the conference. That portion of the program will remain under separate REL Midwest sponsorship.

McCarthy photo

Martha McCarthy

Print-Quality Photo

McCarthy retired as a faculty member in 2011 after having served at the IU School of Education since 1975. She is nationally recognized as an expert in education law and has conducted research on a variety of education leadership and policy matters, including student engagement, equity in schools and teacher preparation.

She has authored or co-edited nine books and more than 200 articles. The 7th edition of "Public School Law: Teachers' and Students' Rights," first released in 1987, which she co-authored, was published in March. McCarthy is now serving as the first Presidential Professor at Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles.

"Professor McCarthy has been a force behind the IUSAA Annual Education Leadership Summer Conference almost since its inception," said Gerardo Gonzalez, dean of the IU School of Education. "No scholar has had a greater influence on the field of education law and policy studies than she has. It is only fitting that this time-honored event should carry Martha's name into the future."

The conference re-naming in honor of McCarthy adds to a long list of awards for her contributions to the field. The University Council for Educational Administration last year gave her the Edwin M. Bridges Award for long-term, high-impact research, teaching and service to the profession. In 2005, the University Council for Educational Administration first honored her with its Roald Campbell Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest honor given in the educational leadership field.

The National Council of Professors of Educational Administration named McCarthy a "Living Legend" in 2002. The Education Law Association presented her with the McGhehey Award for outstanding contributions to the field of school law in 1992.

Indiana University honored her with the Bowman Award for exemplary teaching pertaining to American civilization across the IU system (2004) and the Sonneborn Award for distinguished teaching and research (1991). The University of Kentucky College of Education inducted McCarthy into its Hall of Fame; the University of Florida named her one of its 47 Alumna of Outstanding Achievement.

An active participant in professional organizations, McCarthy has held important leadership roles over her career. She was president of the Education Law Association from 1984 to 1985, president of the University Council for Educational Administration from 1985 to 1986 and Division A vice president of the American Educational Research Association from 1992 to 1994.

The annual summer conference began Thursday and concludes today with the REL Midwest presentations and discussions involving faculty and local, state and national education leaders.