Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Last modified: Saturday, June 29, 2013

Bishop re-elected as Indiana University alumni trustee

June 29, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Indiana University graduates have re-elected MaryEllen Bishop of Carmel, Ind., to a second three-year term on the IU Board of Trustees.

Bishop, a graduate of the Kelley School of Business and the IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law and an attorney with Cohen, Garelick & Glazier in Indianapolis, was initially elected as an IU trustee in 2010. In this year's election, she received 8,216 votes; challenger Ann McGovern DeLaney received 5,493 votes.

"I am honored to be able to serve the university for three more years," Bishop said. "There are significant issues facing IU, and I look forward to joining my fellow trustees and getting back to work. I'd like to thank Ann for entering the race, increasing the awareness of the election process, and for all that she's done for Indiana."

In accordance with state law, the annual election is conducted by the dean of University Libraries on the Bloomington campus, with assistance from the IU Alumni Association. Library staff and students undertook the task of counting 13,709 ballots.

"I want to congratulate MaryEllen on earning a second term as trustee," said IU President Michael A. McRobbie. "MaryEllen is a passionate supporter of the university who has served the interests of our alumni and all our stakeholders very well during her first term on the board. I look forward to her continued counsel over the next three years."

Bishop has been active in IU organizations for many years, serving on the IU Women's Philanthropy Council, the IU Athletics Committee and the McKinney School of Law board of visitors and as chairwoman of the IU Alumni Association in 2007-08. On the Board of Trustees, she has chaired the external relations committee and served on the facilities and academic affairs committees.

She is a fellow in the Indiana State Bar Foundation and a distinguished fellow in the Indianapolis Bar Foundation, and she has played an active role in a variety of professional organizations, earning national citations for her work.

This was the sixth year that alumni could vote online, and 10,276 ballots were cast in that manner. There were 3,433 valid paper ballots.

IU has nine trustees, three of whom are elected by alumni. The other two alumni trustees are Philip N. Eskew Jr. of North Webster, Ind., and Patrick A. Shoulders of Evansville, Ind. Shoulders was elected to a fourth three-year term in 2011, while Eskew was elected to a third three-year term last year.

The remaining trustees are appointed by Indiana Gov. Mike Pence, who announced on June 20 that former Eli Lilly and Co. CEO Randall Tobias, president of Pacers Sports and Entertainment James T. Morris and IU School of Medicine graduate student Janice Farlow would join the board as new members.

In addition, Pence appointed Derica Rice, chief financial officer for Eli Lilly and Co., to a second term. Tobias, Morris and Rice will serve three-year terms, while Farlow was appointed to the customary two-year term as student trustee. The appointments are effective July 1.