Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Media Contacts

Steve Hinnefeld
IU Communications

Last modified: Wednesday, July 17, 2013

IU historian to receive Indiana Authors Award; alumni also recognized

July 17, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS -- Indiana University Bloomington historian James H. Madison has been named the Regional Author winner in the Eugene and Marilyn Glick 2013 Indiana Authors Award program. The award recognizes a writer who is well-known and respected throughout Indiana.

IU Bloomington alumnus Michael Martone received the Indiana Authors National Award, which recognizes an author with Indiana ties whose work is known and read throughout the nation. Also, Indiana University alumni Tricia Fields and Mike Mullin are among finalists for the Emerging Author Award; the third finalist is Kelsey Timmerman.

James H. Madison

James H. Madison

Print-Quality Photo

Martone, Madison and the Emerging Author finalists will be honored at the fifth annual Indiana Authors Award Dinner on Oct. 26 at the Central Library in Indianapolis, at which the winner of the Emerging Author prize will be announced. The national award carries a prize of $10,000, and the regional award winner receives $7,500. The Emerging Author receives $5,000, and each winner also may designate a $2,500 grant to the public library of his or her choosing.

"I'm so delighted with the Glick Award," Madison said, "especially because it connects writers to libraries -- the public and university libraries that have been at the center of my work and joy."

Indiana University Press is the publisher of several books by both Madison and Martone. Also, Martone is editor of the IU Press series Break Away Books.

The Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards is a program of the Indianapolis Public Library Foundation. It is funded through the generosity of The Glick Fund, a fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation.

Madison is the Thomas and Kathryn Miller Professor Emeritus of History in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington. He has taught as a Fulbright Professor in Japan and England and has served on the boards of Indiana Humanities and the Indiana Historical Society and as a member of the Indiana Bicentennial Commission.

He is the author of several books, including "Eli Lilly: A Life," "A Lynching in the Heartland," "Slinging Doughnuts for the Boys: An American Woman in World War II," "World War II: A History in Documents" and "The Indiana Way: A State History." "Hoosiers: A History of Indiana" will be published in 2014.

Martone, a Fort Wayne native, is on the faculty at the University of Alabama. His most recent books are "Four for a Quarter," "Not Normal, Illinois: Peculiar Fiction from the Flyover," "Racing in Place: Collages, Fragments, Postcards, Ruins," and "Double-wide," his collected early stories.

"There was never a time in my 40 years of writing that I have not written about Indiana," Martone said. "My readers outside the state are always amazed to discover this baffling and beautiful land in my stories. And, look at this, the old home surprises me again with this gift of the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award. I am profoundly grateful."

Emerging Author finalists are Fields, whose first book, "The Territory," won the Tony Hillerman Award for Best Mystery; Mullin, whose debut novel, "Ashfall," was named one of the top five young adult novels of 2011 by National Public Radio; and Timmerman, the author of "Where Am I Wearing? A Global Tour to the Countries, Factories and People that Make Our Clothes" and "Where Am I Eating? An Adventure through the Global Food Economy."

Fields has a bachelor's degree from IU Bloomington and a master's from Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, both from the School of Education. Mullin has a B.A. in political science from the School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI and an MBA from the Kelley School of Business at IU Bloomington.

Tickets are available for the awards dinner. Funds raised at the dinner will benefit the Indianapolis Public Library Foundation.