Indiana University

News Release

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Last modified: Wednesday, April 22, 2009

IU School of Education names new Armstrong Teacher Educators

  1. Print this page

Designation honors top teachers, advances professional development, teacher preparation and education research

April 22, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Indiana University School of Education has chosen seven Indiana public school teachers to be Martha Lea and Bill Armstrong Teacher Educators for the 2009-10 school year. A committee of IU faculty and former recipients choose the select group. Over the next year, the teachers will participate in professional development opportunities and work with IU faculty members and students studying to be teachers.

"With this honor, these teachers join an elite circle of educators," said Gerardo Gonzalez, dean of the IU School of Education. "They have been selected because of their success in the classroom. Now they will join an enduring partnership to build upon that success and help future educators as well."

The Armstrong Teacher Educator Awards began in 1997. Superintendents and principals from around Indiana nominate teachers for the award based on patterns of outstanding teaching and school leadership. Nominees also must demonstrate the potential to work effectively as mentors and role models for pre-service teachers.

The award winners are:

Armstrong teachers will invite IU students and faculty to visit their classrooms and also work with campus-based courses, panel discussions, field experience sites, student teaching seminars, research projects and other activities.

Past Armstrong teachers have created unique projects from their year in the program. For example, a sixth-grade teacher produced a Web course called "Practicing Teachers as Mentors," designed to enhance how experienced teachers help newcomers. Another Armstrong educator worked with an IU faculty member to facilitate the adoption of an innovative math curriculum at an area elementary school.

"A unique aspect of the Armstrong program is that the teachers continue with their usual teaching assignments during their active year in the program, but we pay for their substitute teachers whenever they can arrange to come to campus for classroom visits or faculty collaborations," said Diana Lambdin, the Martha Lea and Bill Armstrong Chair in Teacher Education at IU. "There is nothing so credible as a teacher who can say 'let me tell you what one of my students did yesterday!' Our teacher education students are always impressed by how down-to-earth the Armstrong teachers are, in spite of the many awards they have won."

The awards are made possible through the Martha Lea and Bill Armstrong Fund in Teacher Education, established through a gift from the Cook Group Companies, Inc. of Bloomington. The endowment also supports the Martha Lea and Bill Armstrong Chair in Teacher Education. Since the program started, more than a hundred Indiana teachers have earned selection as Armstrong Teacher Educators. The teachers will be honored during the "Celebration of Teaching" event at the IU School of Education on April 29 (Wednesday).

More biographical information and photos of each Armstrong Teacher Educator are at: More information on the program is available at

Web Version

IU News Room
530 E. Kirkwood Ave., Suite 201
Bloomington, IN 47408-4003