Indiana University

News Release

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Last modified: Thursday, July 1, 2010

Three IU Jacobs School of Music students place in international brass competition

  1. Print this page

July 6, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Three students from the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music placed in the 2010 Susan Slaughter Solo Brass Competition at the International Women's Brass Conference (IWBC) June 16-20 in Toronto, Canada.

Ericka Tyner, student of Jacobs Professors Jeff Nelsen and Richard Seraphinoff, won first place in Horn Category III, then advanced to the final round, where she competed with nine other first-place winners from all of the instrumental categories and won third place in Overall Category III (ages 29 and older).

Sarah Paradis, who has studied with Jacobs professors Peter Ellefson, Carl Lenthe and M. Dee Stewart, won second place in Trombone Category II.

Kristin Cazenave, student of Edmund Cord, won second place in Trumpet Category II.

All of the students brought home monetary awards.

The IWBC was founded in 1992 by Susan Slaughter, a Jacobs School of Music alumna who recently retired from the principal trumpet position of the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra, after 41 years. She was the first female principal trumpet in a major symphony orchestra.

The IU Jacobs School of Music Susan Slaughter Trumpet Scholarship was presented to Slaughter on May 9, 2010, following the final concert of the orchestra's 2009-10 subscription season.

The scholarship is intended to support a full-time trumpet major at the Jacobs School of Music who plans on a performance career in a symphony orchestra. The scholarship is open to all students, but if all else is equal, and there is a choice between a female or male musician, the scholarship is to go to the woman.

For more information about the Jacobs School of Music, visit

For a large image of those who participated in the competition, visit:

Web Version

IU News Room
530 E. Kirkwood Ave., Suite 201
Bloomington, IN 47408-4003