Indiana University

News Release

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Last modified: Thursday, October 28, 2010

School of Education honors alumni for contributions to education and beyond

  1. Print this page

Annual IU School of Education Recognition Dinner on Friday

Oct. 28, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Indiana University School of Education will honor four of its outstanding alumni on Friday (Oct. 29) who have among them had great impact on education, access to higher education, business leadership, and even shaping part of the IU Bloomington campus student services.

The 33rd annual IU School of Education Distinguished Alumni awards go to those who hold a degree from the School of Education and have made a lasting impact through their work since leaving the school. This year's four honorees include the former director of the American College Testing (ACT) program, an adviser to the office of the president of the Republic of Korea, a former college provost and Indiana Department of Education program director, and a longtime leader in some of the largest companies in the U.S.

The newest recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award are:

Recipients will accept their awards during a dinner on Friday night at the W.W. Wright Education Building at IU Bloomington. The ceremony will also honor the new Barbara B. Jacobs Chair in Education and Technology, Professor Tom Brush, as well as the new Martha Lea & Bill Armstrong Chair in Teacher Education, Professor Pete Kloosterman.

Web Version

IU News Room
530 E. Kirkwood Ave., Suite 201
Bloomington, IN 47408-4003