Indiana University

News Release

Thursday, May 26, 2011

Last modified: Thursday, May 26, 2011

IU honors students with senior awards; students honor faculty with Student Choice Awards

  1. Print this page

May 26, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Six Indiana University students were honored for academic excellence and outstanding leadership at this year's annual Spring Recognition Banquet. Student Choice Awards for Outstanding Faculty also were presented to five professors.

Recipients of Student Choice Awards for Outstanding Faculty were:

Kelsey Nelson, IU Student Alumni Association vice president for Homecoming and special events and a senior from Loveland, Ohio, majoring in business marketing/management, presented the Student Choice Awards.

Each spring, the Student Alumni Association presents the Student Choice Awards to up to five faculty members. IU students nominate their favorite professors for this prestigious award and selections are based solely on student input. Faculty members are selected based on their knowledge, class presentation skills, student rapport and enthusiasm, and only faculty who receive three or more nominations are considered.

The first Student Choice Awards were given in 1979, and more than 120 faculty members have received this award since its inception.

The Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award was established in 1966 by Stahr, IU's 12th president. The annual award honors three to five seniors who have excelled academically while serving as active student leaders. The awards are based on scholarship, leadership, personality and service to IU. The names of the recipients are added to a permanent plaque that hangs in the Indiana Memorial Union.

The five recipients of the 45th annual Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Awards are:

Amanda Stahl, of Milwaukee, Wis., a criminal justice major, and president of the Student Alumni Association, received the Jerry F. Tardy Memorial Scholarship.

The Tardy Scholarship is awarded annually to the president of the Student Alumni Association at IU Bloomington. This $2,500 scholarship honors the memory of Jerry F. Tardy, a champion of student programs who served as president and CEO of the IU Alumni Association from 1987 until his death in 2001. The first Jerry F. Tardy Memorial Scholarship was presented in 2002.

The Spring Recognition Banquet was sponsored by the Student Alumni Association at IU Bloomington and the IU Bloomington Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President.

One of the largest and most active student organizations at IU Bloomington, the SAA sponsors student leadership initiatives and events such as Homecoming, Networking Nights, Leadershape IU and business-etiquette programs. For more information on the Student Alumni Association, visit

The IU Alumni Association is dedicated to serving the university and its diverse alumni, students, and friends. As one of the nation's largest alumni organizations, serving more than 540,000 graduates worldwide, the IUAA provides many programs and services to its members, nonmember alumni, and the university. For more information, visit or call 800-824-3044.

Web Version

IU News Room
530 E. Kirkwood Ave., Suite 201
Bloomington, IN 47408-4003