Indiana University

News Release

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Last modified: Thursday, April 18, 2013

Reck receives IU President's Medal and Sagamore of the Wabash

  1. Print this page

April 18, 2013

SOUTH BEND, Ind. -- Indiana University South Bend Chancellor Una Mae Reck received two prestigious awards recognizing her 11 years of service.

Reck was awarded the IU President's Medal for Excellence and the Sagamore of the Wabash on April 17 at the dedication ceremony of the Education and Arts Building on campus. IU President Michael A. McRobbie presided over the ceremony and presented the awards.

The President's Medal is the highest honor an IU president can bestow. Former recipients include the Rev. Theodore Hesburgh, president emeritus of the University of Notre Dame, and former Indiana senator and governor Evan Bayh.

McRobbie also presented Reck with the Sagamore of the Wabash on behalf of Gov. Mike Pence. The Sagamore of the Wabash is the highest distinction awarded by the governor. The term "Sagamore" was used by Native Americans in Indiana to describe a great person in the tribe who was consulted by the chief for wisdom and advice.

Reck is stepping down as chancellor June 30 but will continue service to the university through special projects and teaching in the School of Education. Terry Allison has been named the next chancellor and will begin his duties July 1. Currently, Allison is provost and vice president of academic affairs at Governs State University in Illinois.

The awards were presented at the dedication of the Education and Arts Building, which will open for classes in the fall.

Below is background information on the Education and Arts Building at IU South Bend and Chancellor Reck.

Dedication of education and arts building

Recognition of Chancellor Una Mae Reck

Web Version

IU News Room
530 E. Kirkwood Ave., Suite 201
Bloomington, IN 47408-4003