Indiana University

Skip to:

  1. Search
  2. Breadcrumb Navigation
  3. Content
  4. Browse by Topic
  5. Services & Resources
  6. Additional Resources
  7. Multimedia News

Nobel Winner Ostrom

Indiana University Professor of Political Science Elinor Ostrom was awarded the 2009 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences on Oct. 12, 2009. Ostrom is the first woman to win the Nobel in Economics.

In this 1977 photo, political scientists Roger Parks (left) Elinor Ostrom (center) and a student analyze data on American law enforcement agencies at the Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis.

Ostrom speaks at a press conference Oct. 12, 2009, with IU President Michael McRobbie following the announcement.

Ostrom describes her research during the press conference. Ostrom has been an IU faculty member since 1965. She co-founded the Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis with her husband, Vincent Ostrom, in 1973.

Ostrom and McRobbie answer questions under the scrutiny of television news cameras.